I’m not sure if I had bloggers block but I’m back on the block!!!!
Recently I wanted some pizza … When I visited Italy back in 2009 and ate my first slice in Venice I swore I would never touch another American slice … EVER !!! They ( Italians ) have a brick oven that they cook in ( which is now popular in the U.S ) But the ingredients… My mouth waters thinking about the tomatoes … Sweet and holds up to the heat of the brick oven heat. Of course the cheese is the best .. Could it be that the ingredient used have no chemicals but just pure in their nature? I could go on but let me say when I said I wouldn’t eat pizza in the US I meant it but as time elapse I succumb… LOL … I ate a slice in in Whole Foods store . Funny I know! So what is the difference ? Now days flat breads definitely resembles pizza in many ways but most flat bread won’t have a sauce , at least the ones I’ve ate.
So I’m craving pizza and I look in my pantry and there’s a yeast I bought just for pizza which allows you to make the dough without proofing . Well, I gave it a try and folks let me tell you…. Just stop buying pizza dough !! This work and the trick is not to over work the dough so it won’t become tough.
Within in minutes I had a dough in front of me ready for me to transform it to flat bread or pizza!! 🙂
I chose pizza by using a kale pesto I made , sundries tomatoes, black olives , herb goat and smoked mozzarella cheese !!! Simple and 5 ingredients . I brushed the the edges with Olive oil and sprinkle dried herbs and a smoked sea salt !! Placed it on the pizza stone in the oven at 350 degrees for 20- 25 minutes until cheese was melted and edges nice and golden
Voila !!!
It’s far from what I tasted in Venice, Italy but tasty all the same and my Husband was very impressed … Extra points for me!!! So don’t be afraid to step your pizza night up with home made dough then it’s up to you to call it Flatbread or Pizza 🙂 Enjoy !!